AIADMK Is Gone! Now Its AIADMK Amma and AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma

The two leaves have withered in the summer of 2017, thanks to the heat generated by the two rival camps of the AIADMK. In technical parlance, they have been frozen, which means the RK Nagar by-election on 12 April will not see either the two leaves symbol or the ADMK name in its present form being used by any candidate.

The faction led by O Panneerselvam will be referred to as ‘AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma’ and will fight the coming Radhakrishnan Nagar by poll the ‘electricity pole’ symbol. The Sasikala faction will be referred to as ‘AIADMK Amma’ and will fight the bypoll with the ‘hat’ symbol. The announcement was made by the Election Commission of India in New Delhi on Thursday.

The two factions of the ADMK have also chosen two symbols. While OPS has gone with an electric pole with its close resemblance to two leaves, Sasikala went for the hat.